The George Piggins Medal is the award given to the Rabbitohs player determined to have been the "best and fairest" throughout an NRL season.

Exactly how South Sydney came to be known as the Rabbitohs is unknown. [74][75][76][77], The Juniors aka Souths Juniors on Anzac Parade in Kingsford, New South Wales[78][79][80], Juniors @ The Junction (Since 2009) – The result of a merger with South Sydney Junior Rugby League Club (Kingsford) and the struggling Maroubra Returned and Services League (RSL) Club. Interest Groups. After being down 28–4 after 53 minutes against the. [6] During these early years Arthur Hennessy was considered the "founding father" of the South Sydney rugby league club. Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles – Manly have, since 1970, purchased many of Souths' star players including John O'Neill, Ray Branighan, Ian Roberts,[note 4] and more recently Luke Burgess[88] and Dylan Walker.

The Rabbitohs were formed, under their original 1908 articles of association with the NSWRL competition, to represent the Sydney municipalities of Redfern, Alexandria, Zetland, Waterloo, Mascot and Botany. home; what's on; fitness centre; bar & dining; functions After being readmitted, the Rabbitohs were initially unsuccessful in the premiership, finishing amongst the bottom three teams for five seasons straight including three wooden spoons. [25][26] Reports suggested that Holmes à Court had been forced to stand down after his relationship with Russell Crowe had deteriorated beyond repair.[27][28][29][30][31]. During his career Bob McCarthy scored 100 tries for the club, the most by a forward.

He was also New South Wales' first captain and Australia's first test captain in 1908. Reference to Jack Gibson as a "Super Coach" is common terminology in Australian rugby league circles given Gibson's outstanding coaching record – see: Key Souths players purchased by Manly included internationals John O'Neill, Ray Branighan, Elwyn Walters, Mark Carroll, Terry Hill, Jim Serdaris and Ian Roberts and other stars such as Bob Moses, Tom Mooney and Craig Field. Churchill, nicknamed "the Little Master" for his brilliant attacking fullback play, is universally regarded as one of the greatest ever Australian rugby league players. Football club membership had peaked at some 22,000 when the club was re-admitted to the National Rugby League for season 2002. In Round 1, 2010, the Rabbitohs and Roosters became the first clubs to play 200 matches against each other. In the late 1950s Souths began a poor run of form failing to make the finals from 1958–1964. Alex Johnston equaled the South Sydney club record of 5 tries in a match against Penrith at ANZ Stadium in a 42-14 win, joining greats such as Nathan Merritt, Harold Horder, Johnny Graves and Ian Moir. Souths' only success came in 1994 when they won the pre-season competition, defeating the Brisbane Broncos 27–26 in the final. The NSW Leagues' Club was founded in 1914 by a group of businessmen who were involved in the recently formed NSWRFL and considered that the movement needed a Club of its own to add prestige to the game. In 2013, John Sutton & Greg Inglis became the first joint winners of the award. Upon appeal to the Federal Court in 2001,[21] South Sydney won readmission into the premiership for the 2002 season.[22]. The South Sydney District Rugby League Football Club was formed at a meeting on 17 January 1908 at Redfern Town Hall[3] when administrator J J Giltinan, cricketer Victor Trumper and politician Henry Hoyle gathered together in front of a large crowd of supporters. As well as their main home ground, South Sydney also play home games at the Sunshine Coast Stadium and at the Central Coast Stadium during the year. Jack Rayner holds the individual record of the most grand final successes as a captain (5) and coach (5) achieved between 1950 and 1955. [33] That same year the Rabbitohs finished third at the end of the regular season, qualifying for the finals for the first time since 2007 and just the second time since 1989. From season 2009, the upgraded Redfern Oval will provide the Rabbitohs with training facilities and a venue for hosting pre-season and exhibition matches.[60].