These were: A further six were inducted at the Hall of Fame dinner in 2008. "On Xmas Eve, Cam Brookes and Ike Stewart, heavyweights, meet at the Golden Gate, Brookes is another Balmain boy, and the watersiders are sure to follow him to town in shoals." As late as the 1930s some journalists were still using both "Tigers" and "Watersiders" in the same article. The Senior competition (Under 13's – A Grade) is a combined inner Sydney competition with the St. George, South Sydney & Eastern Suburbs District Junior Rugby League. Balmain reached the Grand Final again in 1945 but fell at the last hurdle against Easts 22-18. On the hunt for a third successive title, they lost to Wests in 1948. ), but also to Balmain residents in general. After the heartbreak of the 1989 Grand Final, the Tigers never regained their dominating form (although they did make the finals again in 1990) and went through a rebuilding phase following the retirement of star players Wayne Pearce, Garry Jack, Steve Roach and David Brooks who had all played over 100 games for the club over a period of 10 years or more. It would not be until 1939 the Tigers won back the Premiership smashing Souths 33-4. In a controversial affair, the side lost in extra time against the Canberra Raiders after being ahead 12–2 at half time. but not so wild as the Balmain footballers.". In July 1999, the option of forming a joint venture with fellow foundation club, the Western Suburbs Magpies was put to the Football Club members. The side would again make the Grand Final in 1989 but this time as favourites. The new entity, Wests Tigers, made it to the 2005 NRL Grand Final and defeated the North Queensland Cowboys 30-16. In 2010 and 2011 Nic Fosdike (Sydney Swans) was the senior playing coach while Nick Davis (Sydney Swans), Jason Saddington (Sydney Swans) and Chad Fletcher (West Coast Eagles) played alongside Fosdike. The team train at Glover st Oval in Lilyfield from 6pm on Tuesdays and Thursdays. The top five teams out of the premiership table went on to the final series, and this was the first time since 1979 that a team in fifth position had progressed to the Grand Final. From 2000, they played in the NSW Cup as a merged team with the Ryde-Eastwood Hawks and competed as the Balmain Ryde-Eastwood Tigers. Here is a list of their grounds used as their primary use in first grade: This is a list of rugby league footballers who played first-grade for the Balmain Tigers in Australia's top-level domestic men's rugby-league club competition.[19]. Inner West Mayor Darcy Byrne said of the news "The Tigers were about to become extinct, but the club can now continue as a rugby league entity and to be a partner in Wests Tigers for many decades to come".[10]. Home games are currently at HJ Mahoney Park in Marrickville. The season began with a dark cloud hanging over the 17 clubs. The Tigers would appear in several Grand Final matches throughout the 1950s and 1960s but were just another victim to the mighty St. George Dragons eleven-year streak of Premiership wins in this period, losing in 1956, 1964 and 1966. In 1976 things looked more hopeful when Balmain began the year with an undefeated run through the pre-season "Wills Cup" competition. The clubs' existing lower grade sides play home games at Leichhardt Oval and TG Milner Sportsground in Marsfield. The wooden spoon had not been in Balmain since 1911, but it returned in club history when the Tigers won only 4 games and had 2 draws in 1974 following several poor years. Balmain Leagues Club was the venue for a celebration party after Wests Tigers won the NRL Premiership in 2005. The Balmain Tigers District Junior Rugby League is one of the oldest Junior Rugby League Competitions in Australia. The team train at Glover st Oval in Lilyfield from 6pm on Tuesdays and Thursdays. On 4 August 1985 a crowd of 21,707 set a new ground record for Leichhardt Oval.[3]. These clubs are; Some extinct clubs that once played in the Balmain District junior competition include; Balmain Tigers District Junior Rugby League, Dundas Shamrocks Junior Rugby League Football Club, "League's popularity grows with boost in crowds", "Hetherington signs three players from Eagles", "Foundation club Balmain Tigers in danger of folding", "Balmain Leagues Club in financial strife with Wests Ashfield urged to take over Wests Tigers joint venture", "Tigers Five Dock closed by administrators, with venue 'not viable' enough to continue", "Balmain saved from brink of extinction with new leagues club to come",, "Why the Tigers won't be talking after Thursday", Gold Coast-Tweed Giants / Gold Coast Seagulls / Gold Coast Chargers, National Rugby League reserves affiliations,, Articles with dead external links from October 2010, Articles with dead external links from May 2016, Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License, Balmain Tigers Rugby League Football Club Ltd, 1999 (started joint venture in 2000 with Western Suburbs Magpies to form, Premierships (1915, 1916, 1917, 1920, 1924, 1939, 1944, 1946, 1947, 1969), Runners Up (1909, 1936, 1945, 1948, 1956, 1964, 1966, 1988, 1989), Balmain PCYC (formerly known as Balmain Police Boys), Carlingford Cougars (formerly known as St Gerards Carlingford), Concord-Burwood United Wolves (merger of Burwood Utd & Concord Utd in the 1990s, former Western Suburbs junior clubs), Five Dock RSL Dockers (former Western Suburbs junior club), Enfield Federals (joined 2010, former Western Suburbs junior club).